SO TOTALLY LA ACAI BOWL

IMG_5477.PNG

A SO TOTALLY LA ACAI BOWL

Anyone who knows me knows how much I absolutely looooove Los Angeles and how I could talk about it for days, aha! One of the things I like about the place is the food, one thing in particular being the Acai Bowls you can get there. I feel like this is a very stereotypical food that anyone who doesn’t know a lot about LA would associate it with. So I just wanted to say, whilst there are lots of healthy places to eat in LA, there are also less healthy places too, so don’t be fooled into thinking everything there is fitness obsessed and throw shade on the place because they are not! I’m very defensive about it you see πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚

I had my first ever acai bowl in LA three years ago and I have been hooked ever since! Yes you can make them yourself but it is equally nice to be able to pick one up from a juice place like Jamba Juice when you are out and about on the go! (Jamba Juice do three different acai bowls which are all equally gorgeous!) 😍

Here I have got a quick recipe though for you to make your own at home! I would describe this as a berry based acai bowl but actually as acai juice is quite hard to get in the UK, I have substituted it with berries instead to make it easier to make. If you happen to have some acai juice though go ahead and use that for the liquid part!

INGREDIENTS:
LIQUID
* 5 blueberries
* 5 strawberries
* 5 blackberries
* 1 1/2tbsp of natural yoghurt
* Drop of Maple syrup or honey
TOPPING
* 2 tbsp coconut shavings
* 1 tbsp of granola
* 1 tbsp chia seeds
* Selection of banana, blueberries and strawberries
* Maple syrup or honey to drizzle over

The recipe itself is nice and simple. All you need to do is put the ingredients for the liquid part of the bowl into a blender and blend until they are smooth. Then pour it into a bowl and chop up as much as the topping ingredients as you require and they line them up on top of the bowl. Then finally sprinkle it with coconut shavings, granola and chia seeds to finish it off, drizzling honey or maple syrup over it all to add a touch of sweetness.

This dish would be great to have for breakfast to kick start your day with a healthy dose of fruit and to give you energy as it’s full of vitamins.
Hope you like it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

