ASPIRATIONAL INTERIORS

So today I thought I would post about interior design as being a fashion student, I naturally have an interest in it, as personally I see it as fashion for your home! 

If I had to describe my own style when it comes to what kind of homeware I like, I would say that it is very outdoors based, with lots of different textures and materials and with a predominately neutral colour palette with the addition of green plants, to basically make the indoors feel like it’s outside!

I think even if a room is predominantly one colour, you can add variety to it by including different textures, like marble and wood which are two of my favourites! 

If you want to make a space feel bigger than it actually is, then paint the walls, ceiling and floor white and it will instantly brighten and widen the room. 

I honestly think that less is actually more, so I try to avoid as much clutter as possible and ornaments or paintings that are unnecessary as this can makes rooms look messy and overdone. 

I have attached some inspirational images found on Pinterest showing some of my favourite ideas. 

Bathrooms are one of my favourite rooms, and I think going for a minimal but classy look is easily doable, by sticking to a colour like white, you could have a white floor and furnishings and then add interest by having an accent wall made of marble. You can also get some incredibly interesting and fancy looking taps, baths and sinks nowadays so just changing say the taps for example can really improve and change the look of your bathroom without having to do much work or spend a fortune at all! 

Another thing I like to do is add plants to each room as they remind me of being on holiday in a more tropical country and I find them very soothing and relaxing so I would definitely recommend trying this if this appeals to you.

If you don’t have babies running around which it may be hazardous to, the use of glass can really open up a space a lot and let more light in, which can instantly improve mood and is great in the summer to light a room up.

If you are just looking for odd bits of bobs to give your rooms a new zest of life, then I would say that Urban Outfitters is quite a good place to look at for more quirky and unique items.

And if you like great quality bedding and want a complete overhaul, then Kelly Hoppen do some beautiful neutral and sophisticated bedding with extremely high thread counts! 

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post and found it helpful! Thank you for reading! 

Leave a Reply

