Design In A Nutshell- Gothic Revival, The Arts and Crafts Movement and Bauhaus!

So for part of my course I have been asked to take a look at a series of short videos from this website https://www.brainpickings.org/?s=design+in+a+nutshell and review them on my blog, so here I go!

The first video is about Gothic Revival. Having learn about the different art eras in both General Studies and Art and Photography at school, I do harbour some prior knowledge with regards to this topic, however, we were just taught that we had to write it down as much as possible until we learnt the key facts about each era, which is certainly not the best nor most productive way of learning I believe so anyway. So after watching this video, bearing in my I had no idea what so ever as to what to expect, I am pleased to say that I  was pleasantly surprised by the animation and key facts and images which were shown. I personally am much more likely to learn, and be interested and thus retain information when it is presented to me in a much more visual way such as this, which was very to the point and didn’t include anyway unnecessary information to pad it out for the sake of it or to add confusion. Being a bit of a goth myself, I obviously liked this video and found it easy to understand and could now confidently describe this era to someone with quite a good level of detail giving them a clear picture of what I was on about and what it involves. (It also helps that I do love all things to do with cathedrals and crosses and things like that! Aha). The caption accompanying the video says “Gothic Revival gave us many of the ideas that changed architecture, including the magnificent vaulted ceilings of European cathedrals, and without it Lewis Carroll may never have given us Alice in Wonderland:”

The next video caption says” The Arts and Crafts movement emerged as a rebellion to the negative impact of mass-production and the Industrial Revolution, and its romantic ideals still reverberate today“. Before watching video, I had never really heard of The Arts and Crafts movement being referred to as this. I think it is most definitely a good thing, and I’m a glad that people like Morris campaigned to stop machines taking over production completely and for craftsmanship and hand make skill to continue to be appreciated and encouraged. Like now in 2016, brands actually use this as a major selling pint, and even charge you more for something because it has been “crafted by the finest artisans”. If someone has spent their life learning how to perfect the art of say shoe making it seems a great shame to say we don’t need or value the time and effort they have put into their product anymore. Again, I like how the video was structured as it gave enough information but not too much to overly bombard you with.

When I  read the title for the next video, I thought out of what I had watched so far, this  would be the video I would find least interesting, however the use of humour actually made me laugh out loud and would probably help me remember it more so! Bauhaus is about simplicity and minimalism. I like the fact that the school decided to teach similar subjects all together as opposed to you only specializing and learning about one in particular, as this would have allowed students to have a go a at everything, and maybe subjects that they wouldn’t have thought about pursuing before hand and of course encouraged creativity and variation from the strict German lifestyle which was in place at the time. Bauhaus influence is 100% visible today, with many buildings housing the clean, geometric look and furniture too, rather like what you find in IKEA! The caption for this video reads “Bauhaus, one of the 100 ideas that changed graphic design, revolutionized design education by introducing a cross-disciplinary curriculum and embraced the intersection of innovation and inspiration:”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

